Services

Pentagrid AG is specialised in the manual and semi-automated IT security analysis of IT systems. Due to more than a decade of experience in the software, infrastructure, and hardware security analysis field, our team is able to support our customers in a variety of information security related topics. As information security is a field that requires knowledge from abstract concepts to deep technical processes, we believe that perpetual learning is a key element of our mission. With the help of our analysts, our customers are able to identify risks and subsequently address the underlying technical issues.

Software Security Assessments

Pentagrid provides software security assessments in the various phases of your project's life cycle – in the early requirements-establishing phases, during design and implementation, before going life, and later with regular security checks and in incident situations. Our software security testing covers for example:

  • Web applications and other web-based interfaces

  • Mobile applications

  • Backend applications

  • Authentication and Identity Management solutions

  • Desktop applications

  • Database applications

Infrastructure and Network Security Assessments

New IT infrastructure is often focussed on features and does not always follow security best-practises from the beginning, which usually results in less protected systems. Therefore, finding vulnerabilities and security-related problems is the key to improve the attack resistance of IT systems, which is necessary to protect your assets. We have experiences in analyzing a variety of infrastructure system types, for example:

  • Corporate networks

  • VoIP installations

  • Firewall setups and network segregation

  • WiFi network setups

  • Virtualized networks and infrastructure

  • Cloud-based infrastructure and orchestration setups

  • Access gateway solutions and VPN setups

  • Mobile device management systems

  • Malware hunting and post-incident analysis

  • Design and setup of non-obvious honeypots

Hardware Security Assessments

Selling hardware devices to the market means loosing control on how these products are used. Third parties may tear-down your devices, extract intellectual property or other sensitive information for further security analysis. Once, attackers identified vulnerabilities they may benefit from it. Pentagrid helps you to identify vulnerabilities before providing products to the market. For example, we analyze:

  • Embedded devices

  • IoT devices

  • Firmware

  • Infotainment systems

  • Protocols such as field busses, radio links, for example Bluetooth and proprietary systems, ...

  • RFID-based systems like access control systems

  • ATMs

  • Medical devices

  • Industrial control systems

  • Central building control and management systems

Consulting

Based on our technical experience and knowing how attackers approach challenges, Pentagrid AG provides security-related consulting helping you designing more secure IT and business processes. We may support you, for example in these fields:

  • Technical consulting for IT audit teams

  • Establishing a security development lifecycle

  • Developing and establishing a required security level in your IT operation

  • Managing incident situation and vulnerability discoveries by external parties

  • Supporting you in your public communication

  • Establishing IT security requirements in your IT procurement processes

  • Managing a bug-bounty program

Analysis Methods

Depending on a project's objectives and what information is available, the analysis team selects an analysis approach that fits the project's requirement and constraints. We commonly use these methods:

  • Black-, grey, whitebox analysis

  • Reverse-engineering

  • Source code audits

  • Concept reviews

  • Architecture reviews

  • Structured penetration testing and hot-spot testing

  • Red teaming

  • Testing methodologies: OWASP Testing Guide, OWASP Mobile Security Testing Guide (MSTG), OSSTMM

  • Fuzzing

Dienstleistungen

Die Pentagrid AG ist auf die manuelle und semi-automatische IT-Sicherheitsanalyse von Informationstechniksystemen spezialisiert. Aufgrund unserer mehr als zehnjährigen Erfahrungen mit Sicherheitsuntersuchungen von Software, Hardware und Infrastruktur, ist unser Team in der Lage, Sie in zahlreichen Informationssicherheitsbereichen zu unterstützen. Da Informationssicherheit Wissen von abstrakten Konzepten bis hin zu tiefen technischen Prozessen erfordert, sind wir davon überzeugt, dass fortwährendes Lernen ein Schlüsselelement unserer Mission ist. Mit Hilfe unserer Analysten können unsere Kundinnen und Kunden ihre Risiken identifizieren und die zugrunde liegenden technischen Probleme adressieren.

Software Security Assessments

Pentagrid führt Software-Sicherheitsuntersuchungen in den verschiedenen Phasen Ihres Projektlebensszyklus durch – in den frühen Phasen der Anforderungsfestlegung, während der Design-Phase und Implementation, vor dem Go-Life, später bei regulären Sicherheitschecks und bei Sicherheitsvorfällen. Unser Softwaresicherheitsprüfungen umfassen beispielsweise:

  • Webanwendungen und webbasierte Schnittstellen

  • Mobile Applikationen

  • Backend-Applikationen

  • Authentisierungs- und Identitätsmanagement-Lösungen

  • Desktop-Anwendungen

  • Datenbank-Applikationen

Infrastruktur- und Netzwerksicherheitsuntersuchungen

Neue IT-Infrastruktur legt häufig den Schwerunkt auf Funktionen. Bewährte Verfahren der IT-Sicherheit finden dabei nicht selten erst später Anwendung, fügen sich dann nicht immer gut in das Gesamtsystem ein und hinterlassen Schutzlücken. Daher ist das Finden von Verwundbarkeiten und sicherheitsbezogenen Problemen der Schlüssel, die Angriffsresilienz von IT-Systemen zu verbessern. Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Analyse vielfältiger Infrastrukturtypen, beispielsweise:

  • Firmennetzwerke

  • VoIP-Installationen

  • Firewall-Setups und Netzwerksegmentierung

  • WiFi-Netzwerke

  • Virtualisierte Netzwerke und virtualisierte Infrastruktur

  • Cloud-basierte Infrastruktur und Orchestrierungsinstallationen

  • Access-Gateway-Lösungen und VPNs

  • Mobile-Device-Management-Lösungen

  • Malware-Suche und die Analyse von Sicherheitsvorfällen

  • Konzeption und Einrichtung nichtoffensichtlicher Honeypots

Hardware-Sicherheitsuntersuchungen

Hardware zu verkaufen bedeutet, Kontrolle über die Geräte und deren Nutzungsart zu verlieren. Dritte können Ihre Geräte auseinanderbauen, Informationen wie kryptografische Schlüssel oder Firmware extrahieren und diese auf Verwundbarkeiten hin analysieren und von gefundenen Verwundbarkeiten profitieren. Pentagrid unterstützt Sie darin, Verwundbarkeiten festzustellen bevor Ihre Produkte auf dem Markt verfügbar sind. Wir helfen Ihnen beispielseweise bei der Untersuchung von:

  • Eingebetteten Systemen

  • IoT-Geräten

  • Firmware

  • Infotainmentsystemen

  • Protokollen von Feldbussen, Funkverbindungen wie Bluetooth und proprietären Systemen

  • RFID-basierten Systemen wie Zugangskontrollen

  • Geldautomaten

  • Medizinischen Geräten

  • Industriellen Steuersystemen

  • Betriebsleittechnik

Beratung

Basierend auf unseren technischen Erfahrungen und Kenntnissen wie Angreifer Herausforderungen angehen, berät Pentagrid in sicherheitsbezogenen Themen. Wir unterstützen Sie beispielsweise in folgenden Feldern:

  • Technisches Consulting für IT-Audit-Teams

  • Etablierung eines Security Development Lifecycle

  • Konzeptionierung und Etablierung eines IT-Sicherheitslevels in Ihrem IT-Betrieb

  • Management von Sicherheitsvorfällen und Kommunikation von Sicherheitslücken mit externen Dritten

  • Unterstützung Ihrer öffentlichen Kommunikation bei Sicherheitsvorfällen

  • Etablierung sicherheitsrelevanter Anforderungen bei der IT-Beschaffung

  • Management von Bug-Bounty-Programmen

Analysemethoden

Abhängig von den Projektzielen und verfügbaren Informationen wählt das Analyseteam einen Untersuchungsansatz, der Projektanforderungen und -einschränkungen berücksichtigt. Üblichweise nutzen wir folgenden Methoden:

  • Black-, Grey-, Whitebox-Analyse

  • Reverse-Engineering

  • Quellcodeuntersuchungen

  • Konzept-Reviews

  • Architektur-Reviews

  • Strukturierte Penetrationstests und Hot-Spot-Tests

  • Red-Teaming

  • Test-Methodologien: OWASP Testing Guide, OWASP Mobile Security Testing Guide (MSTG), OSSTMM

  • Fuzzing